Lovelocks

IMG_2770

One of the golden rules of blogging as our inspirational teacher, Will Kostakis, told us – is to keep posting.  But as it has been over a year so I have truly broken that one.

At this point in time, I would like to invite the great writer, Charles Dickens, to my defense. Among his last words were these:

“Be natural my children. For the writer that is natural has fulfilled all the rules of art.”

So I would argue that the rule of being natural – and having my gap year – was a more profound rule than that of a regular blog post.

IMG_1438

I have been busy travelling and following the Universal Truth I learned during my NDE – to follow my heart in all things. In my travels I stayed in many towns but it was in Heidelberg where I first noticed the recent European phenomenon of couples who celebrate their union with an engraved, locked padlock bolted onto some  picturesque bridge.

IMG_2750

A cute idea perhaps, but it’s become a headache for local councils – how are they supposed to properly maintain the metal structure of a bridge when it is covered with locks?  IMG_1437

And it’s not just the metal fretwork where padlocks are found. In Kraslava, Latvia, I saw a painted chain (and padlock) drilled into a small boulder.

IMG_0777

I know couples will always look to find their own sacred sites, for these become part of the narrative of their love.

Yet whether its engraving padlocks or carving initials in a tree, how much nicer it is to leave our beautiful environment alone and just celebrate the moment with one another …

IMG_2768

Happy Valentines Day.

This entry was posted in Life and family. and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lovelocks

  1. Lovely to read your posts again! x

Leave a Reply

